Strange illness

Water Quality, Treatment Advice
DdraigCymru

Strange illness

Post by DdraigCymru »

Hey there everyone. I'm really new to this website, so if I'mma doin' anything wrong, can someone *please* tell me.

I'm also pretty new to serious pond keeping. I'm only 16, and it's taken me years to get my father to invest in a bigger pond to accomidate some Koi and Sturgeon. Anyways.
I had some 7 koi, pretty run of the mill garden centre fish. Nothing above 14", but never any health problems. Theres also a lot of orf, goldfish, tench and roach in the two ponds. A large filter runs them both, never had any sort of problem with water quality, as we live right out in the country theres never been any need to de-chlorinate or anything like that.
Anyway, I saved up, and bought 2 white sturgeon and 10 Koi. Most of them are sanke, kohaku and Ogons. Just as we were leaving this koi place, (Roots 'N Shoots in Chester) The saleman told us about this fish, he's about 20" and he was going to have to cull him because he only had one pectoral fin. So. I feel like I'm not making sense. But we bought all these fish, and because I'm a bleeding heart, I bought the one finned fish fo a bargain price.
I quarantined the new arrivals for about 2 months, with no problems. So I moved all the fish from one of our ponds to the other, and but the new fish in the vacant one. Everything was good until the water temprature starting to rise. We kept the filter on pretty 24/7, but the waterfall leeks now and again, so water changes are pretty frequent.